Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

BacktotheFutureTmw t1_ivr2rzy wrote

I'm a Realtor in your area...there are grants available and you can do an FHA loan which requires 3.5% down. I have worked with people who are in a financially worse place than you are. My advice is to cut out all unnecessary spending (take out, expensive clothes, etc.) and just sock away the money as much as you can. If you have a goal of home ownership, you will attain it as long as you keep moving towards it!

THROWAWAYHELLLLL OP t1_ivr4tdz wrote

The only thing I have problems with is take out because buying groceries is tougher on paper then it is eating a $1 meal in McDonalds, but I'm working on curbing that.

It really is nice to hear that people who are way off worse can buy a house here, I've seen so much in this sub saying it was impossible and I kinda felt dejected. I love my state and I want to build a life here, so hearing this from an actual realtor gives me a bit of hope. Saving as much as I can, hopefully I can put more down then 3.5% when it finally comes time to it. My goal is homeowner ship, I want to have a place I call my own, without fear. It's my one dream.

Kinda sappy I know that my only big dream is to have my own little home but whatever lol. Thank you so much!

BacktotheFutureTmw t1_ivr6bfc wrote

I've sold houses in the $150k range. Granted, some need a little work but if you're not looking for a fully updated house, then it's attainable. I sold one in Alloway for less than $220k last month that was fully updated.