Submitted by archosaurs t3_127uo42 in personalfinance

I just need to vent/get roasted for a bit.

I (24nb) am 24k in debt with a useless degree (illustration). Currently living with my parents. I have 0 graphic design talent or any way of turning my portfolio into a job that isn't impossibly competitive (i.e., 300+ applicants per listing on LinkedIn), and I have no idea how to begin with properly freelancing or networking.

My car has broken down for the last time. It's past the point of driving into the ground, it's just not safe to drive anymore. Fortunately I know someone who is offering for me to buy off their car so that might not be as big of an issue, but I'll lose over half of my savings (10k) in doing so.

I'm a part-time art teacher working 10 hours/week @ 33/hr and it ends in May. Clearly I need to get another job but I can barely get out of bed.

I've received psychiatric help before and nothing as worked. The pills they give me just make me feel like a zombie. I know there's a way out of all this and it's not impossible to get a job with my degree, but I'm considering going back to school for IT or something. The recent advances in AI art have made me feel very pessimistic about my illustration career options if I don't supplement my degree or completely change course. I feel overwhelmed and stupid all the time and just really far behind everyone else. Going back to school and adding onto my debt feels very scary.

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

kaprin_02 t1_jefxo5l wrote