Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

zorak_robert t1_j66p27o wrote

I hate to be that guy, but plastic recycling is a sham anyway. Just throw them in the trash.

teh_german t1_j68l7m0 wrote

Not if done properly, this is also unfortunately the attitude that does not make the situation any better. This is something we need to work on collectively.

My profession is actually in this field, and while I agree that often recycled matter is landfilled instead this is often due to people tainting the recycling stream with items that are not recyclable.

If you truly want to make sure your plastic products are recycled they need to be turned into a center directly.

https://cvwma.com/programs/drop-off-recycling/

Virginia actually recycles about 60% of solid waste.

No_Improvement9110 t1_j6fm8oq wrote

While you're correct that cross contamination is a huge issue, it's the lack of proper plastic recycling infrastructure that keeps most localities in the US from recycling types 3-7. Once China stopped importing our trash, it meant that it didn't matter how you sent in your plastic recycling- it was getting sent to the landfill by the recycling center anyway.

Attempting to shame individuals into having to separate and haul their own recycling is also an extremely inefficient and ineffective way to go about improving recycling rates. If you want people to recycle en masse, make it free, convenient, and accessible. If poor people who don't have cars, work multiple jobs, and barely have time to take care of their kids can't do it, then your solution has elements of classism, racism, and sexism, that will render it moot.