Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

megatheriumburger t1_iykk8dr wrote

I don’t often connect with lyrics, but rather chord progressions. The right musical arrangement, or riff (especially when it’s unexpected) can give me shivers; but in general I tune out the lyrics and focus on the melody and rhythm.

HarriettDubman t1_iykl0s4 wrote

I'm the same way

megatheriumburger t1_iykm5ik wrote

Are you a musician by chance?

HarriettDubman t1_iykmwp1 wrote

I am a song writer, not professionally but I'm more of a song writer than a guitarist.

megatheriumburger t1_iyknkwp wrote

Awesome! ! I’ve been playing guitar for 20+ years, and I have yet to write a real song, or played in any real bands. I just love guitar :p I’d like to hear your music (with an mind of course). Cheer friend.

cn45 t1_iylvx3o wrote

This is why I can’t quit phish haha

10113r114m4 t1_iylyxen wrote

Same for me. A lot of the time I don't even hear the lyrics

AndHeHadAName t1_iykzs11 wrote

Out of curiosity do you listen to a lot of metal? I notice that genre generally tends to have weak lyrics and instead stresses more technically proficient rhythms and emotive singing (not to say that technical proficiency or strong vocal range is particularly a marker of musical interest, innovation, or maturity).

Personally, i think lyric ambivalence is a terrible way to engage with music. In fact, with most lyrical songs generally the words are written first as the words convey the meaning and tone of the song. Otherwise you risk ending up with "Scrambled Eggs" sung over a beautiful melody like "Yesterday".

−1

Burning_Centroid t1_iyl4ye4 wrote