Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

Dungeonmancer t1_issip5r wrote

I'm not an expert either, but am really excited for the Clipper mission. I've been hearing about it for years and can't wait to see the results of the first data.

If the theories about Europas oceans are correct it's a very exciting time. Europa will teach us a lot about extraterrestrial life, even if it's barren.

Haalofti t1_isvxvt6 wrote

I can't wait to see the Clipper Mission.

The one thing about us is that it might offerba glimpse into someone like you or I, it might strike a nerve for. We could live to be just old enough we see microbial life somewhere, but we'll die right as it's beginning.

I smoked too much weed.bi'm being a bummer, haha.

dioxol-5-yl t1_iswy1na wrote

How will it teach us a lot about extraterrestrial life if it's barren?

push__ t1_it330pw wrote

We learn that extraterrestrial life can not exist on bodies like Europa, and why not.

dioxol-5-yl t1_it3gml7 wrote

You can't generalise from one icy moon, the only sample you have anything more broadly. All you can say is that specific moon formed in that specific manner with these kinds of heavier elements that wasn't quite right in terms of the environment. Maybe that's the odd one out, maybe all other icy moons are teaming with life but you'd just assume based on a single moon orbiting a single planet in a single solar system that nup, none of them do.