Submitted by Wide-Escape-5618 t3_y74mpy in space

Can you imagine if 100 mile deep liquid oceans are confirmed on Europa? Even without the confirmation of life it would be completely mind boggling for me. The deepest point in Earths ocean is 7 miles!

Europa Clipper is also capable of detecting collections of liquid water closer to the surface of Europa. If a collection of water is detected close to the surface it would probably be the target of future rover/drilling missions.

And although Europa Clipper will probably not directly prove the existence of life, it will tell us if the necessary components are there for it to develop. Crazy stuff.

Feel free to correct me on anything I have said as I am no expert on the mission.

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

Dungeonmancer t1_issip5r wrote

I'm not an expert either, but am really excited for the Clipper mission. I've been hearing about it for years and can't wait to see the results of the first data.

If the theories about Europas oceans are correct it's a very exciting time. Europa will teach us a lot about extraterrestrial life, even if it's barren.

Haalofti t1_isvxvt6 wrote

I can't wait to see the Clipper Mission.

The one thing about us is that it might offerba glimpse into someone like you or I, it might strike a nerve for. We could live to be just old enough we see microbial life somewhere, but we'll die right as it's beginning.

I smoked too much weed.bi'm being a bummer, haha.

dioxol-5-yl t1_iswy1na wrote

How will it teach us a lot about extraterrestrial life if it's barren?

push__ t1_it330pw wrote

We learn that extraterrestrial life can not exist on bodies like Europa, and why not.

dioxol-5-yl t1_it3gml7 wrote