Submitted by mfjashands t3_11dfga5 in springfieldMO

my boyfriend and i are relocating to Missouri for his job and we are pretty sure that we’ve picked springfield, although Nixa is a close second. i currently work in education so i’m curious if anyone has any pros and cons about the school district there? best areas of town to stay in? best restaurants/bars? places to play pool?

we currently live in kentucky so i don’t feel like this will be a HUGE change but this will be the first time we’ve moved this far from our people so any help would be appreciated 🤍

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

WorldFoods t1_ja9eml8 wrote

My family and I moved here from KY. We looked at Nixa and Ozark (both have great school systems as well as Republic and Willard) but settled on south Springfield. From a teaching standpoint, I think it really varies school to school, but I am really impressed with the SPS superintendent and we have been very happy with the schools as parents. (I have kids from elementary to high school.) When looking for housing, I would recommend south Springfield or northeast if you’re staying in town. But a lot of people also really like living in the middle of town — the University Heights and Rountree subdivisions.

There are a lot of great restaurants— you can do a search on this subreddit and find some great recommendations. Greek Belly is one of our favorites. You’ll also hear people recommend Cafe Cusco but it took me 4 tries before I found something I liked there (the pork tacos, fYI). :)

xPeachesV t1_ja8b4uw wrote

Just outside of Springfield, the town of Republic seems to be blowing up. A lot of things happening there and it doesn’t seem to be a bad place to land. Had my wife and I bought a house a couple years later, we could have ended up there. I just didn’t want to live so far away from the heart of Springfield

ChewML t1_ja8qr4y wrote