Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

packetfire t1_je4nvjb wrote

Yes, obvious - I was born at the end of August so I was as much as a year younger and a head smaller than the rest of my class, who would have started school a year later if born only a few days later than me.

TPixiewings t1_je4ttue wrote

I graduated at 16 because I was in kindergarten at 3.5 or something. It was awful being smaller than everyone else.

WaitingForNormal t1_je4uxsu wrote

I know this well. October. They weren’t as strict about cut off dates when I went to school.

Zaptrem32 t1_je5jfwg wrote

Same, but I’m not one of the smartest kids in class. Prolly 70-75 percentile.

CulturedClub t1_je4qpuk wrote

I often hear this said but you weren't a year younger than the rest of your class. There was likely just days or weeks between you and the next youngest kid. Yes, there was almost a year between you and the oldest but everyone else in your class was somewhere in between.

−7

hoarder59 t1_je4tjtp wrote

No, they are correct. Many school systems have a cutoff birthdate. So do sports teams. My parents had the choice of keeping me out of school for another year but didn't. As a result, I was usually the youngest and smallest in every class until I graduated high school. While I did reasonably well academically, I was inevitably left to last on sports teams. In our ice hockey system it is even stricter adherence to age.

CulturedClub t1_je5e23r wrote

So do you think that there was no one else in the commenter's class that was also born in August or even July? I.e. everyone else in their class was born the previous September

Toy_Guy_in_MO t1_je63j5i wrote

The commenter said

> I was as much as a year younger