Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

[deleted] t1_iublttm wrote

[deleted]

MooseFins t1_iubpbyx wrote

I was a respiratory therapist for a long time and I was always amazed at how much a fan could help people.

tanis_ivy t1_iubs0lx wrote

I've had a few MRIs in my life. This last time I noticed they had little fans blowing on my face. It did help relax me a bit.

feitingen t1_iucmftr wrote

A fan blowing in your general direction can also relieve and prevent motion sickness in VR gaming.

Gorlack2231 t1_iucohbj wrote

The things we do to trick our little lizard brains

sksksk1989 t1_iuc78so wrote

The last time I had to have one done, there was no fan. It was so hot and I had horrible panic attacks

VerbotenVerber69 t1_iudidnr wrote

All MRI machines have fans now, as some scans (such as your lower back) tend to heat you up. Ask the technologist to turn it on beforehand if you know it will relax you.

Nunyazbznz t1_iudzbko wrote

I need moving air. I could be 40°f in my bedroom and I'll still use a fan. It's not about temperature control, I can't breathe without moving air.

Gemmabeta t1_iubmq3h wrote

Dyspnea, like pain, is one of those conditions with a massive psychiatric component.

I've had patients who had a blood oxygen level of 97% who never the less needed to be put on a morphine and midazolam drip to keep the dyspnea at bay, and I've also had patients who are down to 80% and feels perfectly fine on room air.

centrifuge_destroyer t1_iubq4y5 wrote

Maybe that's also a reason why people with respatory illnesses where often send to places with fresh air and wind and reported feeling somewhat better, although this didn't treat the illness at all.

Killer-Barbie t1_iubtfkm wrote

I think it's mostly that air in those place typically have lower levels of particulates in the air.

cutelyaware t1_iubwfo0 wrote