Submitted by vtdadbod007 t3_10xhu48 in vermont

Okay before we go any further, I’m a big proponent of VSC. I think that there are great programs across the system and that we as a state need to invest in universities, and not have UVM be the only public option for higher education.

I’m prepared for this opinion to be unpopular but guys…colleges by and large don’t need libraries with books anymore. And it’s not rare for them not to have any. I’m a student at Northeastern currently and we’ve never had books in our library (or any other public spaces) since I’ve been here. And that’s not a rarity - I’ve seen the same at other colleges I’ve visited. A straw pole of a dozen friends at universities across the country yielded 7 without books, and none knew if their school employed a librarian. In my 3 years of college I’ve genuinely never known anyone who’s used a physical textbook, done research with physical documents, used a librarian for research, etc.. Everything is online - professors don’t even take physical copies of work anymore, if you write your work on paper you take pictures of it and submit it online (personally I use Word and OneNote, I don’t even own any physical paper). I promise that any document you find in a library that would be needed for a college class, I can find online faster (and still for free).

In today’s day and age, a college library is an open space for collaborative learning, late night grinds, and IT help desks. We’ve moved past physical documents being a necessary part of the college experience. College should prepare you for the real world and that includes learning how use exclusively online resources. VSC has to cut costs and this is probably one of the least harmful ways to do so. I love my local libraries for when I want a physical book to read, and I think any VSC students feeling the same should definitely check their town’s out.

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

vermontitguy t1_j7sk47m wrote