Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

Arrrrrr2D2 t1_je8nefq wrote

Vitromeat will cause immense health issues. The concept of a low impact food industry is great but in practice you will see the truth of its value. I agree that the world's method of growing food is hellish but evolving it even farther from nature is not the right path.

−2

Machiavelcro_ t1_je8sc5f wrote

Why do you think this is the case?

Created in a lab environment, isolated from dangerous contamination like e-coli and other bacteria, free from growth hormones, and with the added benefit that you can control the micronutrients in the growth medium, tweaking stuff like the amount of b12.

Let's be objective about things, not take some pseudo religious "we are steering further away from nature" mentality.

Arrrrrr2D2 t1_je8til3 wrote

My background is growing cells in mediums using controlled environments. Even in bsl3 environments contamination is still easy. If they are going to create immortal cell lines like HeLa the meat will literally be cancer cells. The chance of the nutrients being healthy are slim to none. Making a medium is not hard, but sourcing all the ingredients from natural organic sources will not happen in mass production. Religion is not the view point in this, science of man is. I know the science and because of it I'm happy to stick with creation.

Have all the lab grown meat you want.

Senyu t1_jeavt38 wrote

Which is why technology development for this kind of stuff must be aggressively persued. If we want to avoid a rapid fluctuation in our carrying capacity we must shift away from traditional agriculture and further develop our hydroponics and vitromeat technologies. The boons are too important to ignore. We can improve processes.

taptapper t1_je9379r wrote

> isolated from dangerous contamination like e-coli and other bacteria