Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

Sparkykc124 t1_ir1r18e wrote

I’m an electrician and what you’re doing is perfectly fine, provided the wiring is in conduit from the junction box to the charger. Is the 6-3 already at the j-box location? Do you have to re-route it? Honestly, even better is to bring the romex into a j-box and split out the conductors long enough to make it to the charger, splices are weak points.

eerun165 t1_ir1vim9 wrote

Not all jurisdictions require conduit.

Sparkykc124 t1_ir1w9o3 wrote

Well, no jurisdictions allow single conductors to be run outside of conduit/boxes. OP didn’t mention what type of #8 conductors would be used, so I assumed.

jkoudys t1_ir350h4 wrote

> no jurisdictions allow single conductors to be run outside of conduit/boxes

Wish the handyman who did half of the place I bought knew that. Nothing worse to see than thin black wire hopping between jboxes.

Sparkykc124 t1_ir36c4h wrote

Don’t look. I live in a 1911 built house and most everything in the walls and attic is knob and tube. What isn’t, was mostly done by 1950s and 70s handymen.

crankshaft123 t1_ir4zcb6 wrote

My first house was built in the 1930s. The guy I bought it from was an electrician. He was also a fucking hack. He replaced "all" of the original K&T wiring with romex and upgraded the panel from a 60A fuse panel to a 200A breaker panel. He did all of this work poorly, and very little of it was done to code.

All 2nd floor lighting circuits were still K&T. There were running splices in the basement and the attic. The main wire from the pole to the meter was replaced when the new panel was installed, but the penetration in the side of the house was never sealed, which meant that water collected in the bottom of the panel whenever it rained.

Over the course of 10 years, I spent countless hours discovering and repairing the previous owner's hack work.

Sparkykc124 t1_ir79ha7 wrote