Submitted by YahYah2424 t3_zvwdb3 in Maine

Hey everyone,
My husband and I are in our 50's and we're looking to get started with Snowboarding. We're not sure what sort of gear we'll need. I think our plan is to sign up for either private or semi-private snowboarding lessons at Lost Valley, since work scheduling conflicts with their Wednesday night 8-week learn-to-snowboard program.

Would anyone have any idea what we should be purchasing for gear?
What should we expect as far at the experience goes?

We have winter Jackets and snow pants. Do we need to purchase helmets at this stage? Goggles? Special gloves? What's the rental scene like?

Total newbies, here... any help, advice, anecdotes,.... all are welcome!

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

athermalwill t1_j1rp39h wrote

I would recommend taking your winter gear to a resort and renting. Rent a board, boots, and helmet, and sign up for lessons.

Snowboarding is fun, but be prepared to fall down a lot on the first day. Most people find that the second day is when the fun begins.

Laeek t1_j1rj9bc wrote

I'd get a helmet. You're not going to be going fast at first but you might be falling and there's always the chance of hitting your head when you fall. I'd get goggles as well so you're not squinting all day if it's sunny and your eyes aren't watering all day if it's windy. You'll probably want some sort of ski gloves, your hands will be touching snow a fair bit so you don't want cloth gloves that'll get wet easily.

Lessons will probably start with the instructor walking you a ways up the mountain carrying your boards and teaching you the basics over a short area. They won't just stick you on the chairlift right off. Probably just rent your board and boots from the mountain to start, I'm sure they have a rental/lesson package.