Submitted by josef_k___ t3_z6kjwu in boston

Friday was the 100-year anniversary of Howard Zinn's birth (who of course taught at BU for 20+ years and continued to be active in Boston thereafter) -- Amy Goodman had a good show commemorating him the other day I thought I'd share:

https://www.democracynow.org/shows/2022/11/25

I was lucky enough to see him speak at The Old South Church soon after I graduated and moved to Boston, not long before he passed.

Thankfully, my hero Chomsky is still alive and active at 93 -- the photo above is from howardzinn.org where he had this funny thing to say about giving speeches with Chomsky:

"Like rock and roll groups, I was the warm-up. I had a lot of emo­tional statements surrounding several facts. Noam would come on with one vaguely emotional statement and 7,000 facts. It seemed to me a good combination."

I've only read Zinn's most famous work but still, what a selfless and important historian and activist. The democracynow link above has lots of interesting stuff on him, including in his own words how his time as a bombardier in WW2 contributed to his future dissidence and activism.

https://preview.redd.it/ae99j0f4vl2a1.jpg?width=700&format=pjpg&auto=webp&s=c22c4454a393eb54a3fff2e67b8c1aa8c91c9332

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

BostonUniStudent t1_iy21tfk wrote

I met Zinn on campus at UMass Lowell many years ago. I was much younger. Still in high school. He gave me some great life advice.

Difficult-Ad3518 t1_iy2vc50 wrote

What did he say?

BostonUniStudent t1_iy381xt wrote

First, he discouraged me from joining the Army. Which I took under advisement and still joined. He had a lot of regret about his time in the service.