Submitted by Fearless-Knee2008 t3_10l5fnf in boston

Hi! I’m a political science student at Boston University. I’m working on a project to inform and connect Boston residents and communities with their local government by creating and distributing a weekly newsletter summarizing Boston City Council meetings. My goal is to make important government proceedings accessible so busy people can understand what is going on in their city and how they might be affected by new policies. If anyone is interested in a quick digestible update on Boston government I have included my first newsletter and the link to get free weekly information about local issues important to life in Boston. Any and all feedback is appreciated!

Boston City Council Meeting - 1/11/2023

Meeting Length: 2 hours 33 minutes

Attendance: All present, Ed Flynn Presiding as President

Motions from the Mayor:

• Request for $21,600,000 for renovating boilers, windows, and doors at local schools including Boston Day and Evening Academy, Henderson Upper School, Rafael Hernandez School, and William E. Russell School. Referred to the committee on ways and means
  • 0112 and 0113 were passed immediately and unanimously allotting $110,160 for pay increases of 2%, 1.5%, and 2% over the next three years for 86 employees at the public health commission as required by their collective bargaining agreement.
  • 0114 $5 million federal grant from Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to reimburse expenses for the blizzard of Jan 29-30. Referred to the committee on public safety and criminal justice.
  • 0115 $2.25 million grant from the Massachusetts Department of Fire Services to fund equipment and supplies for the Boston Fire Department’s Training Academy and Technical Rescue division. Referred to the committee on public safety and criminal justice.