Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

solid0r t1_j6hl731 wrote

What most people here don't realize is, cheap chifi is basically the only way people on some countries can enjoy the hobby.

Imagine if a single HD 600 would cost your over 2 times your monthly wage, because that's how much it costs here in Brazil if you receive minimum wage, which over half the population does for example. So even buying a $20 chifi iem is considered really expensive and a luxury for them.

Pe-PeSchlaper t1_j6idbst wrote

I feel like a lot of Americans don’t realize the power of the US dollar. I’m a relatively broke college student but I still have a “good” set up.

solid0r t1_j6idz2l wrote

Yeah, most don't realize it. My most expensive set of headphones was an HyperX Alpha which i had to save for a few months and wait for a sale so i could buy it lol

I can only dream of the day i'll be able to buy an HD 600 or similar, but that's still a few years away.

BoysenberryFluffy671 t1_j6kx2l4 wrote

They also don't realize a lot of the parts in the headphones they buy are made by the very same factories. Also how much marketing costs, etc.

herleinb t1_j6hoxkz wrote

Very true. The influx of new and price conscious players in the IEM arena has likely had the biggest impact in areas where access to good sounding IEM’s has been limited due to the economic situation. What a great time to be a music lover.

Rengoku_demon_slayer t1_j6hvsys wrote

Yeah, i also live in Brazil and is really like that.

I bought my Salnotes Zero and i'll probably buy another cheap iem like this at the end of the year, idk!

CORE-YEEM t1_j6hz1ed wrote

PREACH TO THIS RICH ASS PEOPLE 🗣️🗣️🗣️🗣️🗣️🗣️

MrStoneV t1_j6iny83 wrote

And people forget, poor people have even less money for hobbies. So not only is it 2 months of wage, the money for your freetime is even smaller than what you would expect since its not linear or a 1:1 ratio

AlainMC t1_j6k0d0l wrote