Submitted by ostoender t3_y5urlg in newhaven

Hello everyone! My girlfriend and I have been renting in East Rock for many years now. We love New Haven and we are strongly considering purchasing a home in Westville or Spring Glen, Hamden (East Rock is a little too expensive for the size of house we could afford). They seem very similar???

I feel like I have seen a few posts like this from a few years ago... it seems like the city is in even better shape than it was even like 3-5 years ago... but I am wondering if anyone can help offer any insights on what might be the better place to move... She works downtown and doesn't have a car yet, and I work in Fairfield County... so Westville could be a slightly better commute for each of us??

Does anyone have any particular ideas on why one area would be the better place to purchase a house?? Thank you!!

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

losblvdos t1_islvwix wrote

I am a real estate agent and they are honestly both great neighborhoods. I just had a client struggling with this exact same decision. They felt like they got more for their money in Spring Glen but ultimately bought in Westville because of the Village (lots of great new/established restaurants). Homes in Westville are larger and it’s tougher to find fully renovated inventory. Much of the decision comes down to what is most important to you and conducive with your lifestyle. DM me if you wish, happy to discuss further.

HappyProle t1_islv4vr wrote

I was considering the same a couple years ago when I bought and chose Spring Glen. I much prefer driving Whitney over Whalley going downtown. It’s also only one more exit up on the Merritt for your commute.

OkayBrendan t1_isomnij wrote