Submitted by New-Initiative-4280 t3_yeep04 in vermont

I'm a delivery driver in Williston. I've noticed what looks like a family with two daughters and a son panhandling at 2nd and 3rd intersection on Marshall Rd. I've seen a Winnebago with Virginia plates drop them off and park nearby. Kids are school age but not in school. Each are standing with kids on corner with identical signs. (I lost my job, blah, blah, blah.) I think the driver of Winnebago is the one playing electric violin over songs in parking lots.

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

bushydendrites t1_itysq3h wrote

Electric violin is an established scam.

ethandavid42 t1_itxnb29 wrote

There was a family doing this in Milton a couple of weeks ago. Kids with them in the sun all day.

Unique-Public-8594 t1_ityzoda wrote

I wonder if this violates child labor law

−6

ethandavid42 t1_ityzw08 wrote

Not sure. They were just sitting there, not working on anything. But it seemed like they were being used like props for whatever the adults are doing. They also seemed to be school age, which makes me think they're not local, or someone would be ensuring they are in a classroom.

I'm guessing. I don't know their circumstances or the applicable law. It angers me that they're being used in this way, though. The adults are capable of taking care of themselves if they're moving around the area like it seems like they are.

Unique-Public-8594 t1_itz1vxj wrote

You’re right.

I just wondered, if they are being made to be part of begging business, would that be considered work? That the parents are guilty of making them work? Child labor.

but they could claim homeschooling / they weren’t actually working, just sitting, so hard to prove.

Maybe a call to police or DCF?

NobodySpecific t1_itzhe1b wrote

Child labor laws don't apply because there are exemptions to the FLSA