Submitted by Wiskkey t3_10vg97m in MachineLearning

From the article:

>Getty Images has filed a lawsuit in the US against Stability AI, creators of open-source AI art generator Stable Diffusion, escalating its legal battle against the firm.
>
>The stock photography company is accusing Stability AI of “brazen infringement of Getty Images’ intellectual property on a staggering scale.” It claims that Stability AI copied more than 12 million images from its database “without permission ... or compensation ... as part of its efforts to build a competing business,” and that the startup has infringed on both the company’s copyright and trademark protections.

This is different from the UK-based news from weeks ago.

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

MelonFace t1_j7hd5sm wrote

Us system at the same time as UK is an interesting move.

I'm not a lawyer but I'm wondering if this is a means of overwhelming SDs legal capacity.

EmmyNoetherRing t1_j7ia3n1 wrote

It also doesn’t give SD a chance to apply any lessons learned from the first case to the second one, I guess.

IndustryNext7456 t1_j7jb1ey wrote

Pot calling the kettle black. A company known for appropriating images not belonging to them, suing another...

Jrowe47 t1_j7js4yq wrote

Well no, that would imply some form of theft or infringement is being done by StableDiffusion. More like the pot accusing the apple of witchcraft. Getty is on the way out, this is pure corporate desperation.

FyreMael t1_j7iqqhb wrote

Getty is a blatant copyright infringer themselves.

Also, LAION gathered the images via crowdsourcing. I participated.

Y'all need to brush up on the law.

For the US, here is the current legal code for copyright law: https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/17

currentscurrents t1_j7iwvii wrote

> Also, LAION gathered the images via crowdsourcing. I participated.