Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

Tikithing t1_iy0altb wrote

I work in a shop and I always laugh when people buy lottery tickets because the jackpot has hit a certain amount. Like ugh, $150 million, not even worth winning, but $200 million is.

Virtuoso1980 t1_iy0bc5v wrote

Because it’s not their livelihood. I buy tickets when it’s a high amount and i get my money’s worth of hoping and daydreaming about what I can do with the prize.

thunderwolf69 t1_iy0e649 wrote

It’s just a bit of fun, innit? My wife and I spent $9 to spend a night fantasizing and having fun about what we’d do with winning that 2bil Powerball a few weeks ago lol. Even getting $50k would’ve been worth it.

People with money don’t play the lotto because they don’t need to win a 2bil Powerball, OP. They already have generational wealth.

slipperyShoesss t1_iy0epzo wrote

Also feels like Christmas morning as kid as the time for the numbers to be shown gets close. Oooo what am I gonna get??? Oh, nothing, as usual. <Sobs into stocking>

ThirdCrew t1_iy0b3zr wrote

It's not about the money, it's a way to moderate one self. Winning Powerball or mega millions is life changing money whatever the amount.

Brain-of-Sugar t1_iy0bxon wrote

You talk about it like people even have a chance at winning nowadays. Last time I checked you have a better chance at getting hit by lightning 3 times in your lifetime.

If you really want to moderate, then understand that it's a scam and choose a better coping mechanism.

−11

oflowz t1_iy0dnxq wrote

So what? It’s just a dollar. It’s not about the mathematical chance to win everyone knows the odds. But saying it isn’t possible to win is a lie.

The chances are low but people do win. There’s a difference between playing it for fun and being addicted to gambling.

To me spending $2 on a lotto ticket is better for you than buying a candy bar or soda.