Submitted by Dreamer_4200 t3_10rgxeu in massachusetts

I practice daily, I can parallel park, hand signals have become a second nature to me.

I mean, I can't prove it to you, and I know there are some real shitty drivers in this state, but I swear, I’m a decent driver. Not perfect. But decent.

So, I walk into my driving test, finally ready to be done with the mess that is drivers ed. I won't argue whether the right to drive is a 'privilege’, but I’ve sunk 700$+ into the mandatory classes.

I failed.

It was for waiting at a blinking yellow light. (For context, it was one that did eventually turn green.)

I was told by an instructor in a lesson at the same school I took this test at, to wait (even if it was clear), to wait until it turned green to make the turn.

And I believed it. To be extra cautious I thought. Same reason on the test I wasn't going to turn right on red. Or not abruptly stop at yellow lights.

I looked it up, just to be sure. “Are you legally required to turn on a blinking yellow light?” Couldn't find anything.

My parents didn't know.

I had even had the same thing reaffirmed in my refresher lesson the week before, when I waited at that light multiple times and my instructor then never mentioned it.

He said nothing when I sat there, blinking light, not a car in sight, while I waited for a green.

And he said lots of stuff, about my steering, my pressure on the break, my lack of signaling in empty parking lots.

I tell the driving school head this, that I was misinformed by them and he just starts yelling at me. “An instructor would never say that!”

One did though.

I don't know what I’m gonna get out of this post. Maybe in three weeks I’ll pass, and never think about this stuff again. I'm pissed though.

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

Adorable_List3836 t1_j6wgnqf wrote

It sounds like you’re not ready for a license if you don’t know basic traffic signals

Menacing_Anus42 t1_j6x8vlp wrote