Submitted by Lannden t3_11psuw5 in newhampshire

This might be a weird question, but does anyone know about the moped license mentioned on the NH dmv website? I have a friend who is moving here from CO, she exclusively rides an electric moped. I guess in CO they don’t require a moped license but NH does. The problem is, besides college and my own few years in CO I have been a life long NH resident and I have never seen anyone with an exclusive moped license and besides the small section on the DMV website stating you need it if you wish to only ride a moped I can find nothing about the requirements for said license. Does anyone know about the process for getting this license?

Just a small note, she has no interest in riding anything but her moped and does not want to get a full driver’s license. I have talked to her about all the pitfalls of this but she is adamant about this. She is willing to do the motorcycle course if need be, but it seems like you need a traditional license to get that as well? Correct me if I am wrong on that one please as I just drive a car.

I usually wouldn’t take this type of question to Reddit but I have searched high and low and can’t find anything beyond what is on the DMV site.

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

59000beans t1_jbzohgm wrote

Never seen a moped license, but most people I know with a moped have a regular drivers license. NH has moped plates, the whole process is done through the DMV -- extremely cheap to register them too. Definitely call the DMV and inquire there, best way to do it. Theres a moped shop in Portsmouth too, Port City Mopeds, and you could ring them and ask if they might know, but better off just calling the DMV.

Doug_Shoe t1_jbzth58 wrote

It's the same requirements as an operator's license. The difference is that the test would be on a moped, and then you only have a license for a moped.

Personally, I'd get the operator's license.