Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

alltaken123467 t1_j8z2muk wrote

My best advice is for her to always have ear buds in (not so loud that she can’t hear her surroundings); sit in the very front car by the conductor; don’t make eye contact with men; and just act like she can’t hear them when they try to talk to her.

It freaking sucks, but that’s what I’ve learned to do and it’s worked thus far. It still pisses me off though that women have to put up with this shit everyday.

SoftStock2163 t1_j8zdznt wrote

I agree I’m a female student who takes the metro and I recommend always having headphones on (usually only one ear so I can be aware of surroundings) and don’t make eye contact!!! I also carry pepper spray just in case

frankie_fudgepop t1_j8zeeqj wrote

I often wear headphones with nothing playing. So I can hear what’s going on around me but look like I’m not open to conversation

Gilmoregirlin t1_j8zmq5b wrote

I do this too and while I think it deters some and is worth it it does not deter all. I have had men scream at me to get me to hear them.

plasmainthezone t1_j92ad4w wrote

Im a guy and this happens all the time. Headphones dont deter everyone, they will even get more loud.

−3

topher180 t1_j903auu wrote

I’m really glad you carry pepper spray and despite its legality I hate it can’t be more easily obtained in the district. Just please, please be careful and not use it in a confined space like a crowded train. That can go very badly.

burntsiennaa t1_j8zzmik wrote

If you’re like me and you’re the type to not want to discharge a taser or pepper spray bc your anxiety tells you “uhhh maybe I’m totally reading this wrong, maybe it’d cause a scene, maybe etc” they also make alarms you can get that’ll make a big enough noise to divert attention. Not the same but in case she doesn’t want to carry pepper spray!

zerostyle t1_j8zige6 wrote