Submitted by Starfox_2020 t3_11ipctb in Washington

Me being from BC, I generalize BC as full of mountains, forests and not a single piece of flat land or change of scenery. The most that looks different is the Kelowna region where the mountains are brownish with no trees. But time, I was playing around with Maps and I found out once you pass through the cascades on the I-90, it eventually becomes flat and brown. If you take the I-82 south towards Yakima, you can see the change that’s 100% opposite of what you see on the west coast. It makes me really want to visit the rest of Washington outside of the Seattle area. It’s amazing how deserts can become a thing after you cross the 49th!

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

Karuna56 t1_jazfaoi wrote

I am also amazed and I majored in Geography at University. Here in Washington, we have glaciers, temperate rain forest, fjords, high desert, grasslands, mountain peaks, volcanoes, and much much more. I really believe that Washington has the most geographic diversity of all 50 States.

Plus Sasquatch.

NINNINMAN t1_jazrmkn wrote

Not to mention’s the grand coulee which feels like it’s own place from the rest of the state

allybra t1_jazlttj wrote

Ok, question for you then. Where is eastern Wa? ID border to cascades or ID border to Ritzville? For real, not messing with you. It bothers me that people don’t account for central Wa , which looks like Amarillo Tx, and say everything beyond cascades is eastern wa

brobinson206 t1_jb04v61 wrote