Submitted by Rytelwife t3_125wzbi in newjersey

I'm a Canadian (25F) currently here (Parsippany area) and I'm getting a bit bummed out being socially isolated (by my circumstances of being a student mostly at home in a new city). I don't really know anyone here. I'm a student from home so I don't really go anywhere. The places I do go (grocery store, mundane places) don't seem like an appropriate place to make friends. People tend to look at you a little funny when you try to strike up a conversation when they're just trying to buy their food, which I get. Would anyone have some advice on how to make some friends? I miss going for coffee, going for dinner, to the movies, taking my dog to the park with people. My entire social support network is literally a continent away (I'm from the west coast). I guess in adulthood I kind of lost the ability to make friends. It's not like I'm a crazy person, it's just before this my entire friend group had been from school and work. Now I'm here and I'm so shocked by how much not going to a place of work has just completely removed my ability to make friends. I like to read, knit, write, paint, draw, I love animals, I love squishmallows, I love camping, cooking, overall very social. Just at a loss of where to meet other women to hang out with to actually do/ discuss these interests with. I want to go to target and get starbucks with the girls, lol. I think my partner is sick of being my only source of sociability...

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

Captain-Rhubarb t1_je6e6ge wrote

Look at meetup or your local yarn store (if you have one) for a knitting group. Same for a women’s hiking group. Could also look for a volunteer activity if your schedule allows.

Rytelwife OP t1_je6uyki wrote

Ahh I didn’t think of that! Thanks!

Mdh74266 t1_je7zajd wrote

Try REI on rt 10 for hiking meetup groups. They usually run them april-Nov

Rytelwife OP t1_je81mzd wrote

Thanks!

Ok-Stand-3173 t1_je8dj3y wrote