Submitted by THROWAWAYHELLLLL t3_yqz9uu in newjersey

I work for a Bank, about 41000 a year in south jersey. I saw a home for 129000 in a relatively nice area near my work. But I know I'd never make it work, I have a car loan of 11000 and have enough savings to hopefully pay it off in the next 2 years of not sooner. My credit cards are basically paid off though so at least there is that.

I hope in the next few years I can find something that will let me build a future in this state, because a lot of places that are cheaper have little to no protection for LGBTQ people like me. NJ isn't perfect but at least they have regulations.

Hopefully by the time I'm 30 I'll have enough saved for something. Any advice on saving?

I'm located in Salem County.

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

BacktotheFutureTmw t1_ivr2rzy wrote

I'm a Realtor in your area...there are grants available and you can do an FHA loan which requires 3.5% down. I have worked with people who are in a financially worse place than you are. My advice is to cut out all unnecessary spending (take out, expensive clothes, etc.) and just sock away the money as much as you can. If you have a goal of home ownership, you will attain it as long as you keep moving towards it!

THROWAWAYHELLLLL OP t1_ivr4tdz wrote

The only thing I have problems with is take out because buying groceries is tougher on paper then it is eating a $1 meal in McDonalds, but I'm working on curbing that.

It really is nice to hear that people who are way off worse can buy a house here, I've seen so much in this sub saying it was impossible and I kinda felt dejected. I love my state and I want to build a life here, so hearing this from an actual realtor gives me a bit of hope. Saving as much as I can, hopefully I can put more down then 3.5% when it finally comes time to it. My goal is homeowner ship, I want to have a place I call my own, without fear. It's my one dream.