Submitted by venturecapely t3_zz252a in personalfinance

I've been using YNAB for years (literally - like almost 10 years now) and I always run into the same problems and am looking for 1) suggestions, 2) alternative ways to use it, or 3) a different budgeting tool all together. The common issues I face:

1. I don't like having to wait until money hits my account to be able to budget for it. We have fixed annual salaries so we always know how much money is coming in. It also makes it difficult to account for the fluctuations in "pay weeks" in some months (4 weeks vs 5 weeks). I'm a CPA and have a really hard time with this.
  2. We struggle with sticking to budget categories because my husband pays zero attention to it. I've tried showing him multiple times and various ways but he is like a child in this respect. We currently spend more than we take in.
  3. Staying diligent with tracking transactions. Sometimes weeks go by and then I don't have time to go through them. I end up doing a fresh start.
  4. Budgeting for occasional items
  5. Moving money between categories is easy but its difficult to view what the original budgeted amount was and what movements were made. If I'm over budget one month, I don't want that to automatically be my new budget next month.

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

Riknarr t1_j28yk4n wrote

If your husband isn't on board with it then it won't work, not really a way around that

Its-a-write-off t1_j28z1r0 wrote

What is the goal of your budgeting?

I use YNAB. I have variable income, but 1 is not an issue. I budget for each month at the start of the month, allocating the funds that came in last month.