Submitted by BadLuckShoesie t3_11y16wz in Maine

I work in healthcare and this is entirely anecdotal, but I’ve been seeing a higher rate than usual of hospitalizations of fully boosted individuals as well as an infection rate of those in my circle. I know the number would be much much higher and outcomes worse if the vaccines weren’t given out, but has a newer mutation been making the rounds under the radar? I know most everyone in Maine is sick of the pandemic and everywhere you go, people have abandoned the mask for multiple reasons, but I think our state is starting to head backwards again in getting this behind us. I’m not trying to cause a panic but something’s got me paranoid about this.

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

Mooshtonk t1_jd651ei wrote

I tested positive for covid last week on Monday. It was a rough week. Worst sore throat I’ve ever had. I didn’t even know a throat could hurt that bad. It was ridiculous. My nose was like a faucet just constantly dripping. Finally feeling better now but it’s made my autoimmune disease flare up worse than I’ve seen in a decade.

ecco-domenica t1_jd68k2f wrote

Unfortunately there's more and more evidence that covid screws up the immune system and repeated infections screw it up worse. Take care, and please try not to get it again.

PABJJ t1_jd7ygip wrote

Our social policies screw up the immune system, and throw off viral seasons and reduce herd immunity more than anything.

−14

DidDunMegasploded t1_jd5wk5a wrote

Mutations have been making rounds for months now. They pop up very frequently. Seems like one a week.

The catch is that it's about as effective to people as telling a cat lady to stop bringing cats inside. You will hardly get a bat of an eye nowadays.

COVID is going to stick around. It will never truly go away. Might be like the flu that gets worse around a certain time of year, who knows. But it's in for the long haul.

kissiemoose t1_jd794zo wrote