Submitted by ChefKil t3_yfwl0a in pittsburgh

My wife and I are thinking about buying a house in Monroeville. We currently live right in the heart of downtown and want to get out of the city. We do however want to be close to restaurants, shopping, and activities. I currently work downtown and can walk to work. With all this being said, is anyone able to help us and give some pros and cons to living in Monroeville? Maybe some information on commute (I am a chef and don't work 9-5 so I won't be commuting during rush hour the majority of days), some fun things to do, restaurant suggestions and any other info that would be helpful? Thank you!

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

xnick58 t1_iu5kl8x wrote

Outside of "traditional" work hours traffic on 376 before the tunnel can still be terrible. There is truly no rhyme or reason for backups it seems. I will say if you had zero traffic it takes maybe 10-15 at highway speeds to get from monroeville to downtown. Im assuming you are a foodie if you are a chef. Dining options are terrible in the monroeville area. I agree that monroeville would be pretty miserable. We live right off the churchill exit and we still drive into town if we are looking to go out for dinner or drinks as a couple in our twenties.

sqqueen2 t1_iu6d1z4 wrote

Tunnel traffic might get a bit better when they reopen the Forbes bridge. A lot of people are using the parkway instead of Forbes right now.

epicstar t1_iu8ivb1 wrote

Sorry my dad insists to slow down to 20-30 mph before the tunnels... He should get his license revoked.

HewDew22 t1_iu6mxp9 wrote

Eighty acres off golden mile highway is really good

mypassword23 t1_iu6ok6j wrote

On the parkway during none rush hours I find traffic isn’t horrible unless there’s a concert/sports game in town or if it’s raining. Everybody slows way down when it rains.

uglybushes t1_iu5uqm3 wrote

Monroeville to downtown is the absolute worst commute the city has. Pick any other direction to live.