Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

go_berds t1_j5ok9i1 wrote

When I was a student at temple all the discourse was about how Temple students were hurting the community and destroying the neighborhood. There was even a “defund TU Police” Instagram account that had a big following. I’m seeing a lot less of that sentiment recently. And all I can say is it’s about fucking time

BasileusLeoIII t1_j5ommb2 wrote

> When I was a student at temple all the discourse was about how Temple students were hurting the community and destroying the neighborhood.

hate this so much

Temple is by far the largest employer of "locals" in the region, is the only bastion of safety and cleanliness, and does an enormous amount to ""give back"" to the community that hates it despite "taking" nothing in the first place

go_berds t1_j5on3qf wrote

The hospital alone is a godsend

NonIdentifiableUser t1_j5pkszj wrote

Imagine what the murder rate would look like without the two university hospital trauma centers that treat the clowns that shoot each other.

porkchameleon t1_j5vggsf wrote

The word was that for GSW and serious trauma they were the best place in the city (since they statistically saw more).

Silver lining.

Immortalone9 t1_j5p35vm wrote

There’s a bunch of charity organizations that get funded by Temple as well. My senior year I worked on a team that provided funding to many of those.

Effective_Golf_3311 t1_j5qz7dj wrote

As a former student… we were the problem, always. That was drilled into us from day 1 by the school and the community and the only reason the community was shitty because of us.

Granted none of that was true, but some powerful people were convinced it was so we bore the brunt of it.

mustang__1 t1_j5yompb wrote

Safety and cleanliness are gentrification, which is bad for the community since.... I guess rental and home prices will go up.

SteveJeltz t1_j5opxac wrote