Submitted by Extreme_Necessary_56 t3_ye0fsb in rva

I’m an international college student who’s planning to attend VCU the upcoming semester. I joined this subreddit a while ago and all of the talks about shootings, speeding, and chaos around the city is scaring the 💩 out of me before I even arrive.

To my Richmond people, what are dangerous neighborhoods/places to avoid to go to/live at? Do you think there is a lot of racism going around or everyone is kinda minding their own business? Is there anything I should be knowing before I arrive, or mentally prepare for?

Ya girl is traveling across the globe carrying her severe anxiety with her luggage. Please type anything that you think would be helpful🙏.

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

fractalflatulence t1_itvjr9g wrote

Give it 6 months and you'll be wearing doc martins and smoking blunts in some shit hole student apartment in jackson ward like with other edgy VCU kids musing on the bums you saw at the kroger on lombardy.

No stress, welcome to america!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qhZ5vsRSxxU&ab_channel=VojkanKarajovic

Extreme_Necessary_56 OP t1_itvlrta wrote

Lovely!

rhi-raven t1_ity755z wrote

It's honestly a great time lol (and you don't have to smoke, but I would recommend the doc martens, they're solid shoes!)

I'm in Jackson Ward and love it btw. Just don't stop walking when people hassel you on the street and always keep track of your drink at parties and you'll be fine!

J4663rw0ck t1_itzrbyf wrote

Doc Marten’s have unfortunately really dropped in quality over the last several years.

fractalflatulence t1_iu1f0lk wrote

You don't have to smoke.... you also don't need to get a bunch of tattoos... but this is Richmond after all.

iinaytanii t1_itv6a5v wrote

Random crime is very rare. In any city most crime is between people who know each other. If you’re not involved in shady drug deals you don’t have much to worry about.

Extreme_Necessary_56 OP t1_itvhtjo wrote