Submitted by FarttardSandwich t3_yfqol9 in washingtondc

Hello, so in apologize for the proper formatting:

I’ve been a Maryland resident for the past 3 years. Near Solomons Island, Lusby the first two years.

I got a job over a year ago in Montgomery county and moved to Chevy Chase and loved it. Felt safe and better than Lusby, felt like there were things to do. Plenty of restaurants and even being near nightlife was nice as opposed to being in SoMD where there’s nothing to do and groceries close early.

My apartment least is about up here in Chevy Chase and rent lease renewal is skyrocketing up.

With my employer I now work 100% of my time at home and love it.

It’s insane to me that it takes me 5 minutes to walk in Washington D.C., as I live right by the border line.

I’ve been considering moving to Georgetown and found a great apartment there for a very good price, just $50 more than my current rent.

However, moving into Georgetown would mean I’m no longer a Maryland resident and wondering what the pros and cons of that would be.

I’ve heard DMV (or MVA) as it’s called out here, Motor Vehicle Administration, is hell in DC but that may just be speculation. Either way, I’ll be willing to put up with a day of that to get an updated drivers license.

I also do consume cannabis and heard DC laws are pretty relaxed in comparison to Maryland. I don’t have a Maryland cannabis card, just purchase it from my old college friend who also happens to live nearby in Baltimore.

I don’t know if tax laws are better in DC or worse.

I’m really just wondering if it’s worth the hassle of moving a few miles south from Chevy Chase Maryland down into Georgetown DC.

Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

AdditionalAttorney t1_iu4ql28 wrote

DMV is no worse than any other DMV I’ve dealt with