Comments

You must log in or register to comment.

MotorboatingSofaB t1_iu48bo5 wrote

Teachers are literally the backbone of this country and they are treated like shit. It makes no sense whatsoever. They are the ones shaping kids lives and they get little to no respect and not enough compensation for the work they put in

Kabloomers1 t1_iu4y007 wrote

Honestly, I'm a teacher in NJ and I think we get paid all right, depending on the district. They are gutting benefits which is a huge bummer, but we get paid better than most other states. The thing that is harder to fix is the burnout. We need more support, more subs, more paraprofessionals, more co-teachers. Meanwhile there are more responsibilities being heaped on teachers on top of just doing their jobs. Districts aren't going to pay for more teachers and paras, and aren't going to pay enough to attract new subs. Teachers are exhausted and are now being forced to use their prep periods to cover for their fellow teachers who are out. Why kill yourself working nonstop and getting 20 minutes to whorf down a salad while you grade papers when you could join the private sector? Summers off are obviously great but for a lot of people it's not enough to deal with the stress of the school year. People are leaving in droves.

AllThoseSadSongs t1_iu583xo wrote

Teachers in NJ absolutely get paid well, but not well enough for what we are expected to do. I do almost the work of two teachers, but I'm not being paid as such. How many teachers are taking on extra responsibilities without a resulting increase in pay? How many younger teachers are propping up older teachers in technology without even an acknowledgment? Things aren't the same as they even were five years ago with the amount of extra, unseen work heaping on us.

cassinonorth t1_iu5d0t8 wrote