Submitted by payter_m8r t3_114udsz in massachusetts

Hey y'all,

This summer I will be traveling to MA to scout out potential candidates for a new place to live. I am 31(M) single with no kids and I am a teacher in Texas. Lived in this state my entire life. I'm over it and I'm ready for something better. Always liked Massachusetts and decided I want to try a new start there. My question is where do y'all think is a good place to live? I was thinking about scouting out towns along Interstate 495.

I'm looking for something that is relatively affordable for a single teacher. I figured living in big cities is probably pretty pricey for a teacher salary (I'm used to Texas's low wages for teachers). Are there any towns on 495 that are pretty affordable or really nice to live in? It would be nice to be in a town that has access to trains to I could venture into Boston without having to worry about parking and whatnot. I've living in East Texas (the most backwards, boring part of Texas) for the past three years and would like to avoid living somewhere that is void of things to do. I know you can't have your cake and eat it too but I'm sure there is somewhere that is a fairly good in-between of not outrageously high cost of living and not completely boring.

If not towns along 495, any other recommendations for places to live in MA? Places close to civilization or places that have access to easy travel to the big cities? I am a pretty big concert goer and foodie so I enjoy having access to these things. I am used to having to travel for these things as East Texas has nothing and that Texas, in general, takes forever to travel across to do something fun. I plan on renting at first in order to establish a foothold in your lovely state.

I would appreciate the feedback and don't worry, I'm a pretty progressive-minded person so you don't have to worry about me bringing any backwoods, ignorant, stereotypical Texan mentality to y'all's state.

Comments